Governor Abbott Signs Second Amendment Legislation into Law

(Photo: Office of Gov. Abbott)

AUSTIN – During a Thursday ceremony at Alamo Hall in San Antonio, Governor Greg Abbott signed a slew of of legislation aimed at protecting Second Amendment Rights in Texas.

“Politicians from the federal level to the local level have threatened to take guns from law-abiding citizens, but we will not let that happen in Texas,” said Governor Abbott. “Texas will always be the leader in defending the Second Amendment, which is why we built a barrier around gun rights this session. These seven laws will protect the rights of law-abiding citizens and ensure that Texas remains a bastion of freedom. Thank you to the Texas Legislature for getting these bills to my desk.”

The legislation signed Thursday included the highly anticipated permitless carry bill, which authorizes Constitutional Carry in Texas. Under the measure, law-abiding Texans can legally carry a handgun without a license.

Governor Abbott also signed legislation that makes Texas a Second Amendment Sanctuary State by protecting Texans from new federal gun control regulations. He signed Senate Bill 19 which prohibits any governmental entity from contracting with any business that discriminates against firearm and ammunition businesses or organizations.

Senate Bill 20 allows guests to store firearms in their hotel rooms, and Senate Bill 550 removes the shoulder or belt holster requirements, allowing Texans to carry firearms in whatever kind of holster they choose. Both bills were signed by the Governor on Thursday.

House Bill 957 repeals the criminal offense of possessing, manufacturing, transporting, or repairing a firearm silencer. It also ensures that any firearm suppressor manufactured in Texas, and that remains in Texas, will not be subject to federal law or federal regulation. House Bill 1500 prevents any government entity from prohibiting the sale or transportation of firearms or ammunition during a declared disaster or emergency. Those bills were also signed.

The Governor was joined for the bill signing ceremony by Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick, Speaker Dade Phelan, and members of the legislature, as well as  National Rifle Association Executive Vice President Wayne LaPierre.

Listen to Clayton Neville’s story below:

Copyright 2021. WBAP/KLIF News. All Rights Reserved.

There is no custom code to display.